PDA

View Full Version : Ebay Seller of Shaw Brothers DVD's


rd513
07-10-2008, 01:38 AM
Has anyone ever heard of an ebay seller called brothersrobber ? He sells packages of 10 Shaw Brothers titles on DVD for $35. Here is a link to the listing:
http://cgi.ebay.com/10-Shaw-Brothers-Venoms-Kung-FU-DVD-Bruce-Lee-English_W0QQitemZ180262159788QQihZ008QQcategoryZ61 7QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Here is what he wrote me in the email:
THE FINE PRINT:
--------------------
The reason why they are $3.50 per is because these are back-ups. The quality difference between a back-up and original is unnoticeable to untrained eyes.
However, there are no artwork and no cases. But I will put the dvd cover arts on a CD for you so you can archive your collection or print it out whenever you wish. So basically you are getting an exact copy of the original Celestial IVL release, but without the packaging. Menus, special features, etc. have all been preserved and fully functional. The Region 3 has been decrypted to region free so you can play it on any DVD player



Has anyone ever dealt with this seller before??
Thanks
Ralph

bruiselee
07-10-2008, 03:36 AM
Well.. he does have a 100% positive seller rating of over 100. It depends if you're looking for back ups or originals.

KUNG FU BOB
07-10-2008, 04:19 AM
I've both bought originals (practically mint) and backups, and traded with him I think four times. He's a film knowledgable, nice guy that never let me down. Discs looked great. He sent me a disc with the covers to print myself. I wasn't thrilled with the cover scans though, they were just okay. Shipped stuff at a decent speed. I was just wondering today if he was a member here? Anyway, I would give him a positive reference after dealing with him both through eBay and personally.

Daigoro
07-13-2008, 04:39 AM
What he is doing is illegal and he should be reported immediately. It's two times the crime when you look at his record and
see how many times he's gotten away with it. $35.00 for 10 Celestial DVD-R oh my goodness man... That's three times the
crime. Many times over illegal. It would be different if he comitted the felony of selling DVD-R on eBay once but this person
has done it at least a 100 times. Am i reading this right 10 Shaw Brothers DVD-R for $35.00? If you ask me he's not helping
the fans he's ripping them off. Shaw Brothers too, I tell you what if he doesnt get busted i think ill notify eBay myself.

http://feedback.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewFeedback2&userid=brothersrobber&ftab=AllFeedback&myworld=true

GwaiLoMoFo
07-13-2008, 05:17 AM
I tell you what if he doesnt get busted i think ill notify eBay myself.
Ha, you think ebay cares!? Hell most of the import stuff sold on ebay are illegal bootlegs. There are legit big name chain stores that sell Red Sun/Panmedia Shaw bootlegs. Right next to the licensed releases.

David Rees
07-16-2008, 03:54 PM
It is difficult with Ebay at times.
I have used this store a number of times for Shaws because they are good value and originals.
MOOD IN ASIA (http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-53200-19255-0/1?type=4&campid=5335857173&toolid=10001&customid=shaw+dvd&mpre=http%3A%2F%2Fstores.ebay.com%2FMood-in-Asia_Shaw-Brothers-Martial-Arts_W0QQcolZ4QQdirZ1QQfsubZ13727520QQftidZ2QQtZkm )

Markgway
07-16-2008, 09:29 PM
Selling bootlegs like that is not on. He's only out to make money. Either trade among fellow collectors or buy originals - don't give money to thieves.