BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Old 10-01-2008, 08:54 PM   #1
shaolindogpaw

Default Anyone have info on Korea?

I'm just getting into Korean culture, language, and history. Are there any good movies out there relating to Korean history, recent or ancient? I'm looking for movies that are like how Drunken Master is to Cantonese history.

Also, any good web resources about Korean culture or history?
shaolindogpaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 09:08 PM   #2
Grady-San

Not sure if this is up your ally, but check it out. Its a great website for the genre of Korean Films etc..

http://www.koreanfilm.org/
Grady-San is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 09:11 PM   #3
oldeschool17

Cant really help you out on cultural movies but my wife and her mother are Korean. Anything specific you want to know, just ask and I can relay it to them. She and her mother were just in Jeju Island and Seoul over the summer. Here's a lil collage of where they were(not including pics of Seoul since my wife didnt bother taking pics of the city as she's been there several times). If you want to submerge yourself into Korean culture, then get the Korean channel on thru your cable provider. My mother in law watches that on a daily and loves her melodramas/soap operas.
oldeschool17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 09:56 PM   #4
One Armed Boxer

Oldeschool17...I'm travelling to Korea from 17th November - 2nd December cos its always been a country I've wanted to visit. Does your wife know of any places that are worth visiting that wouldn't be mentioned in the usual tourist guides, or any that are for that matter but really stand out?

Any suggestions would be welcome!
One Armed Boxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 10:06 PM   #5
oldeschool17

Quote:
Originally Posted by One Armed Boxer View Post